Becoming a Craftsman or Master Craftsman


Eligibility Requirements

  • Must be an NWFA member in good standing
  • Must be an NWFA Certified Installer for a minimum of one year
  • Must be an NWFA Certified Sand & Finisher for a minimum of one year

To become an NWFA Certified Craftsman, you'll need to complete a total of four of the seven following specialty skillsets. The seven specialty skillsets include, Circular/Curved Application, Color & Finish, Marquetry/Inlay, Medallions, Parquetry, Textured Wood, and Wood Bending.

Click here to find specific requirements for each skillset.

Upon completion of all seven skillsets, you will qualify to become an NWFA Certified Master Craftsman. Further requirements for earning this certification include:

  • Must be an NWFA Certified Craftsman
  • Must attend an NWFA Inspector School
  • Must submit a final exam project, to be reviewed in detail. 


Application Information

For each project, there are two fields for you to provide links to your file sharing site of choice. Dropbox and Hightail are examples of free file sharing sites. Establish an account and create sharing folders containing your project images.

Three high resolution photos from each completed project are required, as well as detailed photos and/or a video of each project in-process. One photo must be a close-up shot of the application to ensure quality craftsmanship. These photos and/or videos must show specific details of the entire project in order for the judges to understand the process and final product details.

To be considered, the required projects for each specific skillset must be submitted and the $200 application fee (per skillset) must be paid in full.

Skillset Submission Forms

Click here to find specific requirements for each skillset.

Circular/Curved Application
Color & Finish
Textured Wood
Wood Bending

Industry News from
Hardwood Floors Magazine

    NWFA Verified